Don’t make God or the things of God an idol

20120927-192309.jpg

Relative post: can I question my belief…


Luk 21:5 Some of his disciples were remarking about how the temple was adorned with beautiful stones and with gifts dedicated to God. But Jesus said,
As for what you see here, the time will come when not one stone will be left on another; every one of them will be thrown down.”

Many may not know or understand that this prophesy was a sign of the end also the end of “temple worship” as God no longer dwell’s in buildings only in the regenerated men & women check the history relating to this prophesy.. 70AD.

The temple worship in context of this scripture illustrates idolatry, placing more value on the building rather than the purpose of the building. In previous scripture Jesus rebukes the customs and practises that were evident in temple worship check the scriptures Matt 11:15-17

“Question

What happens when God Is reduced to an idea, opinion or a particular race or gender…

The whole thing become an idol

Greek translation: eidōlon
Pronunciation: ā’-dō-lon

1) an image , likeness, whatever represents the form of an object, either real or imaginary, apparitions, spectres, phantoms of the mind.
2) The image of an heathen god, a false god

Thats right…

When the God of the whole universe is reduced to our own understanding or our own beliefs we become heavily opinionated, ugly and disfigured void of any virtue at all.


Hbr 3:3 Jesus has been found worthy of greater honor than Moses, just as the builder of a house has greater honor than the house itself.

Making a good thing the ultimate thing….Is an idol.

“Fellowship is life”

12 Responses

  1. Peter, Good job! I have seen the worship of idols happening in the church of America, some of it is the building, some of it the ritual, and some of it is tradition many have forgotten the relationship is not to be a religion. Hope you understand what I just said. Keep digging you have just began to uncover a jewel! God Bless! James

    • Yes brother James, what you said was clear! And received. One thing I appreciate is CONTEXT with in a subject matter no just fanaticism with missed placed truths.
      Many thank for your comment and the lord of glory be PRAISED.

  2. I have to give you an Amen for this !

    • Your welcome, can I ask you a favour can you send me a link of two post or more that you felt deeply about because there is some thing about your writing I like, many thanks..pj

      • I have to be honest I don’t know how to send the link , but I will tell you here , my first post in June , Picture perfect Memories a Viet Nam Memeorial and July 13,I remember the last time I saw Larry Berry’s Granma There are others , but too many to go through . Thanks for your interest . Thanks for visiting my blog . May God Bless you and your work !

      • Thanks, I’ll check them out, blessings

  3. Amen. Great post…it addresses a common misconception. Thanks for visiting my post, It gave me the chance to check out your
    blog, which I find very interesting and thought-provoking.

  4. Hi Peter.
    Loved your post.
    “Making a good thing the ultimate thing… is an idol.
    A very profound statement. I need to remember that all the time!!

    Rolain.

Leave a Reply

