Confidence…

20130212-135945.jpg

The bible mentions a lot about confidence a subject I’ve been looking at recently. The notion I’ve always believed about confidence was very much about how I view myself and how this reflect my inner self, I guess this isn’t basis of a spiritual or biblical understanding.

So what does this word mean The English dictionary says:

Confidence

•A feeling of trust, in some one or some thing

• A state of feeling hopeful that events will be favourable

Translation from the Greek
Language
: parrēsia

•fearless, cheerful courageous , boldness, assurance

I like the bible definition from the Greek translation,Confidence being an assurance, a boldness, fearlessness to represent what you believe publicly & privately.
The Apostle mentioned something about this:

Phl 2:12 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling;

Just to add to that point, I’ve been listening to a very good bible teacher name Andrew Womack and he mentioned in one of his massages that we should live by the inner convictions.
The bible says let your profession faith be without wavering for he is faithful who promised..

The Law of commands isn’t the basis for confidence on any level, only Grace can produce that.
My confidence is based on the finished work of Christ

1John 5:14 Now this is the confidence that we have in Him, that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us.

Confidence is like the example of faith, I believe it must be directed towards some one or something greater than ourself as we allow the God of the universe to take his rightful place in our lives the birth place of our confidence in him.

I remember this beautiful scripture a reminder of how to approach the throne of Grace

Hbr 4:16 Let us therefore come boldly to the throne of grace, that we may obtain mercy and find grace to help in time of need.

The confidence we have isn’t about us. This invitation is about knowing Jesus who is the means of all fulfilment the basis of lasting confidence which inevitably will be rewarded…if we value it as a gift.

Hbr 10:35 Therefore do not cast away your confidence, which has great reward.

“Fellowship is life”