The wilderness, turn aside and see!

20120806-140013.jpg

The wilderness experience is very significant part of life’s journey Which the bible mentions a lot about. Great characters in the bible were processed in this solitude place called the wilderness. I’ve just finished reading the book called the Alchemist which has given me so much perspective towards what i have alway believed about the bible. I’m intrigued by the whole process how God use different ways to develop his people in character. I wrote a post about character or the lack of it of it. A quote from it says ” a person without character is just a personality” which is only an appearance not the core or character of a person.

The objective of the wilderness experience is about preparation for character & the task a head. Some times you sense the notion because some one gone through some things don’t mean there’ve learnt anything at all. Moses spend forty years in Egypt learning the arts and education as a prince in egypt the out come Lead to the conflict with an Egyptian soldier abusing a slave, the injustice unsettled moses after to kill the soldier, as he flees into the wilderness.

God is Good that every experience’s we go through if failure or victory, Gods will use it for his Glory, so don’t be to hard on yourself because there is no failure in God.
I remember a massage one of my brothers preached at church he said “God doesn’t waste not one drop of our life experience” and to this day, it remains a major part of my theology.

“All thing work together for good to them that love God”

Moses spent another forty years in the wilderness being prepared in character but how?
Well he had a wife, children and a respected father in-law that Moses was accountable to. His daily responsible to oversee the flock of animals as a herdsman, to me this was character building in itself. For sure I’ve seen God purge some things out of my life through my daily routine, work, family even friends that’s the obvious one. As the process continues, I’m looking at how far I’ve come, I give “God praise” for his workmanship in my life as I know there is still a lot of room from more work!

But Moses being a man of daily routine notice this time,on his journey, something seemed different!
Not only did he see a fire, the bush wasn’t burning, for Moses, this must of been a common seen in the wilderness but this one caught his attention.

Exd 3:3 Then Moses said, “I will now turn aside and see this great sight, why the bush does not burn.”
Exd 3:4 So when the LORD saw that he turned aside to look, God called to him from the midst of the bush and said, “Moses, Moses!” And he said, “Here I am.”
Exd 3:5 Then He said, “Do not draw near this place. Take your sandals off your feet, for the place where you stand is holy ground.”
Exd 3:6 Moreover He said, “I am the God of your father–the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob.” And Moses hid his face, for he was afraid to look upon God.
Exd 3:7 And the LORD said: “I have surely seen the oppression of My people who are in Egypt, and have heard their cry because of their taskmasters, for I know their sorrows.

In the midst of hard labour, the voice of Gods chosen people cry’s out, unknowing as God makes provision to deliver them from the strong grip over the people. The voice of hope in a wilderness reaches a man willing but afraid “considering he wasn’t recognised as Hebrew to the people he was sent to deliver. I can imagine him saying “will I be received by these people?

What I like about this story is the fact that Moses “turned aside to see” This learning curve for me shows me that life’s journey requires us to make some diversion’s sometimes, if we want to grow, learn or even be lead my the lord. All the great men in the bible went though a wilderness, abraham, Moses David, Jesus and the Apostle Paul

Psalm 86:4 a lovely verse says: who walks though the valley of baca meaning “weeping” make it a well , a resource storage in my words for “life’s journey learning”
The process of our pain and disappointment will become healing or wisdom for us first, with the power to touch someone & reach through our experiences, as God perfects his work in us through the wilderness.

“Turn aside and see” >;A ripple in my ocean <; a psalm by Peter Johnson.

By: Pjgracecommunity

2 Responses

  1. So very very very true, as you said all the great men went through some wilderness or another….and it is the hard times that shape us into what He wants us to be…sometimes its very very VERY hard when you’re stuck in the wilderness!!! However, hope springs eternal…and I know I am not alone. 🙂 Hugs friend, awesome writing!!

    • Christina I’m glad you enjoyed it but I’m more so glad because you have an idea of what I’m about, thank you, the value & respect we have for each other is about where we are coming from and where we want to go, so as I said before Let’s “make history” by writing, sharing and be of service to the world…no I mean to those you value our product…lol, my dear friend.

Leave a Reply

