“In the storm”

20120702-185936.jpg

“The Man the ministry and the message”

Mar 4:36 Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him.

Mar 4:37 A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped.

Mar 4:38 Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?”

Mar 4:39 He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm.

Mar 4:40 He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?”

This story about jesus and the disciples, highlights an amazing picture of life’s journey. I was so inspired by some ones post about this story now I what to share my thoughts. What do we learn about this story? Well, it relates to life in general. The boat is a symbol of our security
and the people is in reference to our spiritual connections the influences in our lives. Jesus sleeping signifies how inaction we allow him to becomes in our lives until we get desperate for him. A client of mine ones said “I perform better when my back is against the wall Obviously, because it our survival instinct kicking in those desperate moments, I suppose the challenge is to keep the same conviction of faith towards Christ in all matters we face in life.

As they cried out “master don’t you care we are perishing” Jesus woke up and rebuke the wind and waves, then said “Do you still have no faith” Trusting God isn’t circumstantial it’s our way of life

The beginning of the year was a challenge for me. My plan to move into a new work field plus the publishing of my book seemed a massive step. When I thought about the financial responsibilities I often thought and questioned if it was better for me to just stay in my comfort zone, if I’m honest with myself it’s something I need to do for the next chapter of my life.

Being a Christian for over a number of year’s, I would say that only now I’m really understanding what it means to trust the lord.

Thank God for the economic condition at present, it’s making me more reliant on God alone, I feel the scriptures are being fulfilled before my eyes.

Rom 8:28 And we know that all thing are working together for our good!

That’s good is in relation to my faith my character and my confidence in Christ.
What I like in this story is Jesus uses their unbelief as a opportunity to teach them some thing. A brother in my bible study group said “the problem we have in fellowship is we disciple people by just telling them” he said “what we need to do is show them! What people need to see in our lives is the process, the outward working of our faith. As a believer I’m not afraid to get it wrong as long as I’m open to learn, then i will get it right, that’s the process of faith!

Jesus didn’t use this experience to catch them out or to find fault with them
It became a great opportunity to teach them something.
The objective of discipleship is relationship unto faith and faith towards mission.
Sometime am concerned about the impression people give about Jesus like he was just radical, he’s so amazing, some people have good intentions but it don’t justify the impression. He often expressed his righteous indignation toward religious people who thought they were better than anyone else, when he engaged with the every day man and woman he sought to relate to them through connecting.

“He was gentle enough to relate to human need

Compassionate enough to heal the sick
forgiving enough to purge the human conscience of guilt and shame
Gracious enough to ensure eternal life to anyone who simply believes”

“This is the jesus everyone should know”

by Pjgracecommunity
Check out post:leadership through connecting

2 Responses

  1. the world : to see is to believe

    believers : believe and you will see

    • Good point!
      Believing is a process, it would be good if faith was like a light switch you can press and it comes on strait away but unfortunately it a product of trust and that’s a process.
      The capacity to believe is in the human heart as the bible says but faith is given by God a small measure for us to build on but the strength of faith is trusting the character of God not the things we want to change, considering Abrahams faith was towards God not his situation!

Leave a Reply

