What does your name mean?


Ecc 7:1 A good name is better than precious perfumes.
20120820-224258.jpg

Sorry, what is your name again…

In some parts of the world, naming some one is considered as a very Important decision. In some cultures, people believe a name has the power to shapes some one’s destiny. In the western world we use names In remembrance of loved one’s or our fathers christian name. I guess a lot of people would decide to name a child because it feels or sounds right.

•Why was you given the name?
•Do you think your name is a
reflection of your life’s journey or destiny
•what reflection does your name have on your character?

Well my name is Peter, Hi there, as some might already know. From the meaning of my name I see a lot of similarities with the Peter in the bible. Looking back at my journey I was the opposite to what the name Peter means but what I understand is the name is a reflection of my destination.
If you believe names are significant then
the story of jabez might help. 1Ch 4:9
There was a man named Jabez who was more honorable than any of his brothers. His mother named him Jabez because his birth had been so painful.

1Ch 4:10 He was the one who prayed to the God of Israel, “Oh, that you would bless me and expand my territory! Please be with me in all that I do, and keep me from all trouble and pain!” And God granted him his request.

Bearing in mind the story is explained from the outcome of his life going back to his birth when his mother named him because of the circumstances in with he was delivered.
This is so profound, this is why I love the word of God, full of relevant truth & inspiration . Like a visionary the story has been explained to see the end or the outcome of jabez’s life story before explaining the detail what a testimony.

So what do we learn about Jabez?
Well no matter how bad a situation is there is always hope as we redefine our life’s mission if by prayer, revelation or simply to change your name, then let it be.
I’m so encouraged to see the people I’m associated come into there own, without being shaped according to any one’s personal opinions I believe God made individual’s not clones to show what we all possess is so unique & special so as each person who is named will also display his greatness.

Sorry, what’s your name!

by:Pjgracecommunity
“make history”

2 Responses

  1. Christopher means “Christ Bearer”.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 444 other followers

